Diary of a PR Amateur

A New Chapter | August 16, 2010

Well, folks. I thought I had a fool-proof way of getting a raise, but it turns out it’s not fool-proof because my fool-of-a-boss and the CEO both turned it down.

You see, I had done some research into the average salary for in-house PR people. It was simple, really. I just went to PR Week and O’Dwyer’s, and each of them had a survey of salaries. So I took the average of both averages, and that turned out to be higher than the salary I have been making.

I took the surveys into my boss’s office and said, “If you think I’m lower than average, you can keep my salary as is. If not, I would like an increase.”

He smiled and said, “I’ll have to discuss this with (the CEO’s name), and will get back to you.”

You’re darn right, you should be discussing it. I’m the last guy they want to make unhappy.

Well, it wasn’t even 15 minutes later that he came back to me with their answer.

“We believe that you are currently worth less than the average PR person, but that you do have potential, Joe. Therefore, we are keeping your salary the same.”

I'm not feeling too good right now. But that's about to change.

So I responded, “If you don’t think I’m worth what I think I’m worth, I may have to leave the company.”

“I understand,” he said, and walked out of my cube.

So that’s it. I’m now definitely moving on. In fact, I have my first interview scheduled for tomorrow.

And I’m particularly excited, because it’s with an agency. Imagine how impressed they will be when I outline my client-side experience to them.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and become MUCH smarter about PR.

    Join 27 other followers

