Diary of a PR Amateur

A Media Tour | June 24, 2010

I got a call from John today, asking me if our CEO would be open to a media/analyst tour in the next month or so.

But I’m no dummy. I know the reason he asked about that. He just wants to have a nice few days in San Francisco. So I told him that it sounded like a great idea, and that he should get moving on booking it ASAP.

Meanwhile, I’m going to find out when our CEO is free to travel to the West Coast, and I’m going to make it clear that it is I, and not John, who will be heading out there for the tour.

But I’m not going to tell this to John yet. What I told him on the call was that we’d do the media/analyst tour, but only if he booked at least seven meetings/interviews. And I told him that at least three of them have to be top-tier, with outlets like Red Herring, wire services and the Wall Street Journal.

I want him working really hard to earn “his trip” to San Francisco…

2 Comments »

  1. […] what this means is that I will need to see serious progress on the media tour front, so that I can begin to plan my trip to the West […]

    Pingback by An Important Week « Diary of a PR Amateur — June 27, 2010 @ 2:39 pm

  2. […] you all are aware that I have a major upcoming trip to San Francisco in the works, and it can all come crumbling down if my agency doesn’t hold up its end of the […]

    Pingback by My Name is Joe, and I AM a Motivational Speaker « Diary of a PR Amateur — July 6, 2010 @ 3:30 pm


Leave a Reply

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and become MUCH smarter about PR.

    Join 26 other followers

