Diary of a PR Amateur

Press Release Ideas | January 31, 2010

My agency recently asked me for “a pipeline of PRs.”  This is something I don’t really understand.  We are paying them so much money to do our PR for us.  Why should I have to give them a list of things going on in the company that will give them ideas for press releases?  Shouldn’t they come up with the ideas themselves?  Isn’t that why I pay them so much?

Well, guess what?  They don’t think so.  They think it’s my job to find out from my company what is happening.  But I’ve already explained to you that I’m not so good when it comes to actually getting things done, and that I’m much better at looking busy.  I’d really prefer to lay low and not give my management team a reason to look into how good I am at getting results.

But I have an idea.  Since most announcements wind up not actually materializing anyway, I’m just going to make up the press release topics, have the agency write up the releases and then explain that getting approvals is just taking a long time.

I’ll post the topics later, just so you see how clever I can be.

2 Comments »

  1. […] Finally, An Announcement | July 28, 2010 Well, it had been a while since we actually had something to announce, but tomorrow, we will finally put out a press release. […]

    Pingback by Finally, An Announcement « Diary of a PR Amateur — July 28, 2010 @ 9:17 am

  2. […] | July 28, 2010 Well, it had been a while since we actually had something to announce, but tomorrow, we will finally put out a press release. […]

    Pingback by Diary of a PR Amateur — July 28, 2010 @ 9:17 am


Leave a Reply

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and become MUCH smarter about PR.

    Join 26 other followers

